A Self Portrait

This week I’ve been having an awesome time at my writing camp. In my poetry class we’ve been writing self portrait poems, so here’s mine!

Dogeared pages marking sacred lines
library books I don’t want to return

A worn Bible with golden edged pages
a silent prayer, a sense of hope

Tattered maps of undiscovered cities, postcards from abroad
Dreams of plane tickets and passport stamps

Black pens and ink on my fingers
half finished lines on half finished pages
enough notebooks to fill a drawer

Birth, Rebirth, or somewhere in between
the spinning record is my only clock

Many heartbeats but never under the same roof
scattered across the country, separated by more than state lines

As the world sleeps I press my face against the screen
I’m waiting for the streetlights to fade with dawn

2 thoughts on “A Self Portrait

Leave a Reply

